Duke Performances is now Duke Arts presents. Learn more.

Duke Arts Presents

Ciompi Quartet Concert No. 2

Friday, November 12, 2010 | 8:00 pm

Nelson Music Room

GUEST ARTISTS: John Brown, bass; Thomas Kraines, cello

Founded in 1965, the Ciompi has been Duke’s resident chamber ensemble for more than four decades, turing out bracing performances of new and classical programs with “genuine warmth” and “effortless…coordination” (NY Times).

MOZART: Serenade No. 13 for Strings in G Major, K. 525, “Eine Kleine Nachtmusik” (with John Brown, bass)
DAVID LIPTEN: “Ictus” for String Quartet (2000)
SCHUBERT: String Quintet in C Major, D. 956 (with Thomas Kraines, cello)