Duke Performances is now Duke Arts presents. Learn more.

Duke Arts Presents

Escher String Quartet
featuring Jason Vieaux

Saturday, December 9, 2017 | 8:00 pm

Chamber Arts Series

Baldwin Auditorium

During the last decade, New York’s Escher String Quartet has risen through the ranks of a crowded field to become one of music’s most engaging string ensembles. The quartet has broadened its reputation by becoming an eager collaborator, working with classical, jazz, and Latin legends alike. One of its more regular and rewarding partnerships has been with GRAMMY-winning guitarist Jason Vieaux, a new classical guitar luminary who, like the Escher, prefers to remain free of the restrictions imposed by the traditional repertoire.

The Quartet begins by contrasting the elegant Haydn op. 76, no. 1 with two energetic pieces by György Kurtág, the entrancing Hommage à Jacob Obrecht and the dizzying Hommage à Mihály András. Vieaux, as soloist, explores an intricate Bach lute suite and the seductive “Rumores de la caleta” from Spain’s Isaac Albéniz. Then he contributes two twentieth-century masterpieces: Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “A Felicidade” and Duke Ellington’s “In a Sentimental Mood.” The five musicians then gather for a kinetic finale, Boccherini’s aptly named guitar quintet, “Fandango.”


Haydn: String Quartet in G Major, op. 76, no. 1

György Kurtág: Hommage à Jacob Obrecht

György Kurtág: Hommage à Mihály András: 12 Microludes for String Quartet, op. 13

Bach: Lute Suite No. 1, BWV 996 (selections)

Albéniz: “Rumores de la caleta” from Recuerdos de Viaje, op. 76

Antonio Carlos Jobim: A Felicidade

Ellington: In a Sentimental Mood

Boccherini: Guitar Quintet in D Major, G. 448 (“Fandango”)

Escher Quartet 'Schubert: Death and the Maiden"

Escher Quartet 'Schubert: Quartettsatz'

Jason Vieaux 'Tiny Desk Concert at NPR Music'

“The Escher holds the listener spellbound from first bar to last.”

BBC Music Magazine